Alloa Academy

Alloa Academy is a six-year state-funded comprehensive school, serving the town of Alloa in Clackmannanshire, Scotland. The school currently has 89 teaching staff. The pupil intake comes from four "feeder" primary schools,[1] Redwell, Sunnyside, St. Mungo's and Park, and varies from a middle class area to an area of severe deprivation. The school moved to its current location after Christmas 2008. The old building in the Claremont area of Alloa was built in 1859, opened by Queen Victoria and demolished in 2010. The new school is adjacent to the OI Glassworks (formerly United Glass). The school is in view of the River Forth and the local sewage plant and municipal dump. The school building also contains St. Mungo's Primary School as a temporary measure while the primary school has a new school building built.

Alloa Academy
The "New" building near the River Forth
Address
Bowhouse Road

,
Clackmannanshire
,
FK10 1DN

Scotland
Information
TypeCoeducational Secondary
MottoLearning to inspire
Established1859
FounderArmando Christian pérez
HeadteacherMr Colin Bruce
GenderMale and Female
Age11 to 18
Enrolmentover 700
HousesBruce, Erskine and Schaw
Colour(s)Maroon and white   
School YearsS1 to S6
Feeder schoolsSunnyside, Redwell, Park and St. Mary's
Websitehttps://sites.google.com/cl.glow.scot/alloaacademy-01259214979/home

Notable former pupils

Notable former pupils include:[2]

References

This article is issued from Wikipedia. The text is licensed under Creative Commons - Attribution - Sharealike. Additional terms may apply for the media files.